Yesterday was International Day of Prayer for the Persecuted Church (IDOP). Tomorrow is Election Day for the United States of America. Soon, the US will have a new president.

My concerns are with the children of the world. What will happen to the next generation? How can US play a role in saving as many children as possible from poverty, homelessness, violence, and chaos? Who is the right person to lead the country I live in, which has been known to influence the world in good ways and bad ways, and is there a way to prevent war?

I say my prayer for this pivotal moment of time, in dedication to Christian youth facing trials of many kinds. (I regret not mentioning Europe in my prayer; I’ve read how Swedish people suffer, Germans suffer, French suffer; it seems persecution is global.)

Surely the Lord must have a plan to combat all the suffering, surely? Yes, he does. Jesus talked to us about why we suffer and who we are called to be. In a prayer He said to the Father, on behalf of all believers, He explained the plight we Christians face:

I have given them Your word; and the world has despised them because they are not products of the world, in the same way that I am not a product of the corrupt world order. Do not take them out of this world; protect them from the evil one.

Like Me, they are not products of the corrupt world order.Immerse them in the truth, the truth Your voice speaks. In the same way You sent Me into this world, I am sending them. It is entirely for their benefit that I have set Myself apart so that they may be set apart by truth. I am not asking solely for their benefit; this prayer is also for all the believers who will follow them and hear them speak. Father, may they all be one as You are in Me and I am in You; may they be in Us, for by this unity the world will believe that You sent Me…”

(John 17:14-21, VOICE)

Please close your eyes and pray with me:

Leave a Reply

