“Lord, listen to me and answer me. I am poor and helpless. Protect me, because I worship you. My God, save me, your servant who trusts in you.” Psalm 86:1-2, NCV

As Christians, we say “God is good.” But when we struggle in life, we ask ourselves, “How can a God who is good allow this to happen to me?”

We need to remember: God is not a dictator.  He doesn’t force His will on us. He doesn’t make us want what He wants.  Actually, He wants us to rejoice and to joyfully choose His plan over ours. He wants us to trust that His will is better than our own desires. “This plan of mine is not what you would work out, neither are my thoughts the same as yours! For just as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than yours, and my thoughts than yours.” God says in Isaiah 55:8-9; or Jeremiah 29:11 shows what God’s plan for us is like: For I know the plans I have for you, says the Lord. They are plans for good and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.”

More often than not, we feel what David expresses in Psalm 86:4, “Give happiness to me, your servant, because I give my life to you, Lord.” (NCV) We need to realize what David exclaims in the very next verse, “Lord, you are kind and forgiving, and have great love for those who call to you.” God loves us, whether good things happen to us or not.  And God will forgive us, even when we doubt His love for us.

God allows us to make our own choices in life.  He will work with whatever we decide. When things happen, maybe its our own choices that cause it, or another person’s.  Instead of asking “How can a God who is good allow this to happen?” we should ask ourselves “Can God see any good coming out of this?” Rest assured the answer is ‘Yes!’ because if the answer was ‘no’, then God would not have let it happen. He would have stopped it.  Romans 8:28 tells us that “…we can be so sure that every detail in our lives of love for God is worked into something good.” (MSG)  So live according to Psalm 86:7 and take courage in God’s mercy: I call to you in times of trouble, because you will answer me.” (NCV)

Courage is not received by having great knowledge of the Bible, but by trusting in God to help you. In fact, God hides His truths from the wise and reveals them to babes. Spiritual truths are known only by those who accept the Father and the Son in their life. (Matthew 11:25-27) Jesus explains it in Matthew 11: 28-30. “Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me-watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.” (MSG)

Paul tells us more in Galatians 5: 16-24:

“I say be guided by the Spirit and you won’t carry out your selfish desires. A person’s selfish desires are set against the Spirit, and the Spirit is set against one’s selfish desires. They are opposed to each other, so you shouldn’t do whatever you want to do.

“But if you are being led by the Spirit, you aren’t under the Law. The actions that are produced by selfish motives are obvious, since they include sexual immorality, moral corruption, doing whatever feels good, idolatry, drug use and casting spells, hate, fighting, obsession, losing your temper, competitive opposition, conflict, selfishness, group rivalry, jealousy, drunkenness, partying and other things like that. I warn you as I have already warned you, that those who do these kinds of things won’t inherit God’s kingdom.

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. There is no law against things like this. Those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the self with it’s passions and its desires.” Galatians 5:16-24 (CEB)

The bottom line: Trust in God and imitate Jesus. Follow the Spirit. Live the prayer in Psalm 86:11, “Lord, teach me what you want me to do, and I will live by your truth. Teach me to respect you completely.” (NCV)

The Lord Will Find a Way for Me

(American folk hymn)

I know the Lord will find a way for me. If I walk in heaven’s light, shun the wrong and do the right, I know the Lord will find a way for me.

 

The Lord has said to preach the word to all the world. If I walk in heaven’s light, shun the wrong and do the right., I know the Lord will find a way for me.

 

Won’t it be grand to hear him say, “Well done!” If I walk in heaven’s light, shun the wrong and do the right, won’t it be grand to hear him say, “Well done!”

 

“The moment we get tired in the waiting, God’s Spirit is right alongside helping us along.  If we don’t know how or what to pray, it doesn’t matter. He does our praying in and for us, making prayer out of our wordless sighs, our aching groans. He knows us far better than we know ourselves, knows our pregnant condition, and keeps us present before God. That’s why we can be so sure that every detail in our lives of love for God is worked into something good.” Romans 8:23-28 (MSG)

Leave a Reply

