Growing up, Easter would mean a week of sewing. As a kid, my mother would sew
Lacy and me each a new dress. I remember, Mom was sewing a pretty dress for me one year: it had a EasterDressespattern of green clovers and lady bugs.  Lacy had blue checkers with lady bugs, too. I was so proud of the material for my dress, and so eagerly I watched Mom sew it.  She told me, “Jesus washes away our sins.  The Bible tells us it’s like getting new clothes, clean and white and spotless.” Mom was my Bible Class teacher, so she always found daily applications to use as examples. She was a great Bible teacher.

From that day on, I decided that I wanted to learn how to sew, so that I could make new Easter dresses every year.  Mom taught me how, and sewing quickly became my new favorite hobby aside from writing.  I would always look forward to Easter, when I’d make new outfits for myself, for Lacy, and for Mom.  It was like Jesus, providing us with new spotless robes of holiness.

Today, Easter means more than new clothes.  Unfortunately, I haven’t sewn in years. And I don’t get new clothes very often.  But Jesus washes my sins away daily.  With Him as my Savior, my robes are spotless and white as snow.

I don’t have much to boast in this Easter, but as a Christian I’m not required to boast in anything but the blood-stained cross and the empty grave.  And that’s enough for me.  Thank you God! And thank you, Jesus.

Holy Holy Holy (hymn by Reginald Heber) 

Holy Holy Holy, all the saints adore Thee

Casting down their golden crowns around the crystal sea.

Cherubim and Seraphim falling down before Thee

Who wast, and art, and evermore shall be.

Tho’ the darkness hide Thee,

Tho’ the eye of sinful man Thy glory may not see,

Only Thou art holy

There is none beside Thee, perfect in pow’r, in love, and purity.

Holy Holy Holy, Lord God Almighty!

Early in the morning our song shall rise to Thee

Holy Holy Holy, Merciful and mighty!

God over all, and Blest eternally.

 

Leave a Reply

