Back when I was in high school, there was a guy from Mississippi who owned an online forum, cheshil.com. He was about 15 years old; with a mission to create a website for his high school, a place where everyone could come and feel accepted and loved no matter what.

I was the oddball homeschooler from Texas who got invited by my pen pal to join. Members chatted about topics ranging from books, religion, music, and video games. The atmosphere was kind of like Hogwarts… where everything was fun and imaginative and goofy.

I was a huge gamer: fan of Final Fantasy, Zelda, Kingdom Hearts, and anything JRPG. One day, owner Cheshil asked for people to write video game reviews, to make his forums not only a fun place, but a hub for research and recommendations. I agreed to write about my favorite video games, telling others what I did or didn’t like about the game, and what could have made it better.

My evaluations, as I called them, got positive feedback. The only problem some members had was they were too lengthy, being over 1000 words, but it felt great having others compliment me and tell me I helped them decide whether to buy a game or not.

Time passed… Everyone graduated and moved on, and the online forum was left behind, due to the grown-up world hitting us. We were all urged to come out of our shells and realize our potential, find out who we’d become and what career path we’d take. Amazingly, Cheshil is a doctor today with a Master’s, another one of the members live in Japan raising her family, yet another is an actor and production stage manager – the world is our stage!

I attest the wisdom: though success is in front of us and our lives are ready to conquer, we all still need to feel love and accepted, and that’s something that will never change.

Leave a Reply

