Let’s be sparring partners! Do say, will a friendly duel work for you?

I say that because I bought this book, Girls With Swords by Lisa Bevere, and I’ve read only Chapter 1, but already it’s very effective, with its contemporary perspective of the ancient battle we Christians face, both in our daily lives and on a global spectrum. I want to study with you for the next 14 weeks, because there are 14 chapters in the book, and we will take 1 chapter a week. Of course, I’ll recommend you buy and study it alongside me, with a hard copy of your own, and especially buy its counterpart, Fencing Manual, if you like to write your thoughts down in a journal and learn more about yourself. You can discover your personal vulnerabilities, what areas you need improvement in, and how you should train harder.

I share my evaluation of Chapter 1 in a video. It’s a bit long, but I go over 3 points made by Ms. Bevere, in case you can’t buy the book, I lay it all out for you.

My second video is meant to be shared on social media. It’s engaging in a bit of sword-talk: which type of sword would you wield in battle? Describing five types of swords, I spur you on to think characterization! What kind of warrior will you be for God?

The 3 main points Lisa Bevere makes in Chapter 1, You Are a Target, is:

1. Satan is trying to distract you from who God has made you to be.

2. You need to equip yourself to withstand his hostile schemes.

3. Universal gendercide causes a startling death rate among 21st century women, primarily because of the imbalance brought on by mass abortions (boys are favored therefore the number of girls are decreasing) but also because women are dying in many tragic ways: kidnapping, mistreatment, and human trafficking to name some.

“This is God’s battle. I’m one of His prayer warriors. I’m ready to go where He needs me, pray for who needs Him, and take whatever action He created me for. I stand ready to work for God.” -quote from Kat’s Fencing Manual

“…I would be words, poignant and true; I’d be actions, loving and empathetic; I’d be a thrust forward  when the enemy is open for conviction, and a defensive block when the enemy strikes, so God’s plan is made complete.” -quote from Lacy’s Fencing Manual

Therefore, having put away falsehood, let each one of you speak the truth with his neighbor, for we are members one of another.” Ephesians 4:25 (ESV)

Leave a Reply

