It was a club with two members: my best friend and me.  Our tools of trade were an empty peanut butter jar, a pencil, and a small notepad.  We would catch butterflies, keep them as pets, and learn what they ate and how they lived. This was before the convenience of the Internet, if anyone can actually imagine a time without it.  We had to do the research the hard way: in the field of study.

70sHippyFlowerGirl
70’s Day at school; I dressed as a flower girl.

 

I was proud when our teacher cut windows out of a box and put plastic wrap over it so that we could even keep the butterflies that we caught. Then the class could observe them too.

When my friend moved, I continued the club by myself.  I didn’t research the butterflies so much. I had a new mission: to train the butterflies to sit on my hand.  During recess, I would step quietly and slowly to catch the butterfly in my empty peanut butter jar.  Then, when the butterfly settled down, I would slowly open the lid and put my hand in. Once in a while I would manage to stay still and calm enough for it to happen;  to my friends, I became the girl who could get a butterfly to sit on her hand.

But I wasn’t one to bask in the glory; there was more to do and explore.  There was a different type of insect that had caught my eye… one that I learned was called a damselfly.  At first I thought it was a lady for the dragonfly, but since then I’ve discovered that –although very similar- they are two very different types of insect.

Since then, I’ve had a soft spot for damselflies when I see them.  I never had one sit on my hand, but recently I was thrilled to get a shot with my camera.

Damselfly
It’s a Citrine Forktail! You can download our free image here.
Leave a Reply

